top of page
Diamond Guide

Our Diamond guide has been designed to give you useful information about the diamonds we use in our jewellery.


The "4C's"

The 4C’s - Colour, Clarity, Cut and Carat weight is the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond and calculating its value.



Diamond Cut

Diamond cut determines the diamond’s ultimate sparkle as the facets reflect and refract light.

Diamond cut grades are based on a number of factors including symmetry, polish, brilliance and fire.


Cut quality grades:


  • Excellent

  • Very good

  • Good

  • Fair

  • Poor


Diamond Clarity

Diamond clarity is graded by the visability of the diamonds internal and eternal  flaws/ characteristics. A diamond is graded as flawless if, under 10-power magnification, no inclusions and no blemishes are visible.


The GIA clarity scale:


  • FL diamonds are Flawless

  • IF diamonds are Internally Flawless

  • VVS1 & VVS2 diamonds are Very, Very slightly included

  • VS1 & VS2 diamonds are Very Slightly Included

  • SI1 & SI2 diamonds are Slightly Included

  • I1, I2 & I3 are Imperfect



Diamond Colour

Diamonds can be found in a variety of shades, from a brilliant white to a light yellow. Diamond colour is graded by assigning a letter grade which ranges from “D” (colourless) to “Z” (light yellow).


Diamond Carat weight

The term diamond carat weight measures how much a diamond weighs.However, two diamonds of equal carat weight can have very different values depending on the other factors of the diamond 4C’s: Colour, Clarity and Cut.


Robert’s Fine Jewellery can source loose stones for clients to view in-store. We will hand pick a beautiful diamond according to your specification. Robert’s Fine Jewellery can help you find the perfect diamond for every budget.

bottom of page